Gerald Saddlemire was an effective administrator, a true scholar, an educator, and a mentor who accepted each person as a unique individual, and believed that the ability and potential of those individuals was the profession’s greatest asset. This award is presented to the student personnel professional with a demonstrated history of mentorship who embodies and advances the true spirit and ideals of Dr. Gerald L. Saddlemire. 

The selection criteria for the Gerald L. Saddlemire Mentor Award are as follows:

  • Serves as a mentor and role model to graduate and/or undergraduate students and other student affairs professionals.
  • Known as a supportive and educational administrator.
  • Significant contributions to the ideals of the student affairs profession.

Past Recipients


 2019-20  Nancy Rutkowski, Ohio Wesleyan University
 2018-19  Dr. Jason Pena, Ohio University
 2017-18  John L. Frazier, The University of Mount Union
 2016-17  Dr. Jenny Hall-Jones, Ohio University
 2015-16  Not Awarded
 2014-15  Ryan Brechbill, Otterbein University
 2013-14  Not Awarded
 2012-13  Vicka Bell-Robinson, Miami University
 2011-12  Lisa Patterson Phillips, Otterbein University
 2010-11  Not Awarded
 2009-10  Karl Rishe, Case Western Reserve University
 2008-09  Verne Walker, Owens Community College
 2007-08  Kathy Morris, Wright State University
 2006-07  Jennifer Grube Vestal, Denison University
 2005-06  Kimberly M. Ferguson, Capital University
 2004-05  Dr. Edward Whipple, Bowling Green State University
 2003-04  Joyce Jadwin, Otterbein University
 2002-03  Eric L. Dicken, Case Western Reserve University
 2001-02  JoAnn Kroll, Bowling Green State University
 2000-01  Not Awarded
 1999-00  Dr. Oscar McKnight, Ashland University
 1998-99  Ralph Carapellotti, Baldwin Wallace University
 1996-98  Not Awarded
 1995-96  Sue Heimann, Ashland University
 1994-95  Frances Pearson, Ohio University
 1993-94  Jeanne Likins, JML Associates
 1992-93  Willie J. Young, The Ohio State University
 1991-92  Becky Smith, Otterbein University