The Equity and Inclusion Award is presented to an individual, campus/community program or service who or which has demonstrated creativity, innovation, and success in making a significant contribution and impact in the area of multicultural understanding and appreciation. The purpose of this award is to encourage and recognize outstanding efforts addressing cultural diversity issues in higher education. 

The selection criteria for the Equity and Inclusion Award are as follows:

  • Addresses a specific campus, community or organizational equity and inclusion need or issue.
  • Contributes to addressing student and/or campus equity and inclusion need(s) or issue(s).
  • Seeks to promote understanding and responsiveness to equity and inclusion issues.
  • Encourages student, faculty, staff, alumni and/or community involvement.
  • Enhances the appreciation of equity and inclusion as a way of life on the college or university campus.
  • Sustains activities and programs that promote an atmosphere of inclusiveness for all students.

Past Recipients

 2019-20  Bill Fischer for the Chosen Name Policy, University of Dayton
 2018-19  Sally Leber, Ohio Wesleyan University
 2017-18  Diversity 360, Case Western Reserve University
 2016-17  Adan Hussain, The Ohio State University
 2015-16  Preferred Name Policy, Ohio University
 2013-15  Not Awarded
 2012-13  Vorley Taylor, The Ohio State University - Newark & COTC
 2011-12  Dafina Lazarus Stewart, Bowling Green State University
 2007-11  Not Awarded
 2006-07  President Jack Calareso and the President's Task Force on Multiculturalism, Ohio Dominican University
 2005-06  Not Awarded
 2004-05  Racial Awareness Program (RAPP), University of Cincinnati
 2003-04  The Tunnel of Oppression, Wright State University
 2002-03  Not Awarded
 2001-02  MLK, Jr. Day of Learning, Capitol University
 2000-01  Not Awarded
 1999-00  Friendly Town, Ashland University
 1998-99  Not Awarded
 1997-98  Intro to Student Affairs, Kent State University
 1996-97  Dr. Rebecca Parker, The Ohio State University
 1995-96  Indianola After School Project, Otterbein University