The Fayetta M. Paulsen Accomplished Leader

The Fayetta M. Paulsen Accomplished Leader Award is presented by OCPA to a student affairs professional who has, through outstanding leadership, made significant contributions to the field and to the institution of which the professional is a part. The professional has achieved innovative responses in meeting the varied and emerging needs of today’s students.


About Fayetta M. Paulsen

In June of 1990, Fayetta M. Paulsen retired as the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Residential Services at Bowling Green State University. This event honors her 27 years of service to the University. While at BGSU, she also served as the Associate Dean of Students, Acting Dean of Students, and Dean of Women. Prior to coming to Bowling Green, she was Dean of Women at Luther College, Associate Professor and Chair of Health and Physical Education for Women at Augustana College, and Professor and Acting Director of Health and Physical Education for Women at St. Olaf College. 

Professional organizations played an important part of Ms. Paulsen’s career. She served as president of OAWDAC, OCPA, and the Ohio Association of Student Personnel Administrators (OASPA.) Additionally, she held several offices within the National Association of Women Deans, Administrators, and Counselors. She also published articles in the Journal of NAWDAC and Fraternity Month. She made presentations throughout the state, region, and nation.

Ms. Paulsen died February 20, 2005. (

The selection criteria for the Fayetta M. Paulsen Accomplished Leader Award are as follows:

  • Significant contributions to the field of student affairs and to the institution.
  • Evidence of serving as a role model to students and professionals.
  • Demonstrated leadership and innovation in the field by meeting students' needs.

Past Recipients 

 2019-20  G. Dean Patterson, Case Western Reserve University
 2018-19  Dr. Vicka Bell-Robinson, Miami University
 2017-18  Lacey Filkins, Kenyon College
 2016-17  Karen Hagans, Ashland University
 2015-16  Brandon Mikulski, The University of Akron
 2014-15  Dr. Roxanne DuVivier, Wright State University
 2013-14  Dr. Julie Ann Snyder, Bowling Green State University
 2008-13  Not Awarded
 2007-08  Dwayne Todd, Columbus College of Art & Design
 2006-07  Paul Putnam, Cleveland State University
 2003-05  Not Awarded
 2002-03  Robin Gagnow, Kent State University
 2001-02  Tracy Benner, Otterbein College
 1999-01  Not Awarded
 1998-99  Denise Reading, Baldwin Wallace University
 1994-98  Not Awarded
 1993-94  Dr. Fiona MacKinnon, Bowling Green State University